MitsuStyle MitsuStyle

Go Back   MitsuStyle > Tech > Turbo / Engine / Drivetrain

Old 09-22-2010   #1
2.5turbo

Drives: Beretta
Exclamation N/A motor in Turbo car.

Hello All, Im new, and needing information. I was given two eagle Talons, one turbo/awd/auto and one NA/fwd/auto. The guy pulled the n/a motor and dropped it into the turbo car.. but the "flexplate" type thing on the NA uses three bolts to mount to the torque converter, whereas the Turbo uses 4 bolts. Can those flexplates be swapped via the 6 bolts? sorry, im a noob when it comes to japanese stuff.. The other question is: Is it safe to run a turbo on an NA motor? I know certain GMs were the exact same engine just +- a turbo.. Im in need of help.. I hate the automatic in a turbo car, but they are both FREE to me, and itd be a really nice driver.. any direction/help is greatly appreciated!
2.5turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010   #2
19TsiAwd90
2stepadepaaadepaaadep

Drives: myself crazy
Re: N/A motor in Turbo car.

idk about the flex plate but thats for a auto so youyou dont need that, you need a flywheel but you run into another issuse with the tranny, you cant use a fwd tranny in a awd, well atleast it wont be awd anymore, and as for the turbo yes you can, you might wanna install a knock sensor idk much about it but have herd you need it, also you cant run more than 10 pounds of boost i think on stock internals with a n/a
if any of the info i have posted is incorrect.. correct me =)
^^thats what modding is about.. your own enjoyment
19TsiAwd90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010   #3
4g63tcrazy
is Nashty

Drives: Cyborg from Japan

^^^All your info is pretty much incorrect..

You can just swap the flex plate, if they're both 6 bolt engines.

The NA engine will have higher compression, but other then that it will be fine since it doesnt sound like you plan on modding the car.