MitsuStyle MitsuStyle

Go Back   MitsuStyle > Tech > Turbo / Engine / Drivetrain

Old 06-19-2005   #1
TGPilot

Send a message via AIM to TGPilot
Oil Pan Leak?

Hey folks...

I just dropped the oil pan on my 94 TSi about 2 weeks ago for an oil leak. After 2 weeks it has gotten progressively WORSE than what it was before! Is there any common issue of the oil pan cracking so small that you can't see it but leaks like a sive?

I have been working on cars since I was 8 years old (now 34) so I know what I am doing...but this thing is PISSING me off.

Another issue I noticed is the oil drain tube for the turbo mounting holes are through to the oil...I used Black RTV on the pan and some on the threads to "seal" the possible leaks. Should I be using something else besides RTV on the threads? The bolts are showing obvious signs of leaking...but the major leak is up along the pan towards the firewall.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

-Kenny

1990 Pontiac Grand Prix Turbo Coupe 222HP / 320ft.lbs @ 3700 RPM
1990 Pontiac Grand Prix Turbo STE 222wHP and 280ft/lbs @ 3850 RPM
TGPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2005   #2
sleepydsm
Kevin

Send a message via AIM to sleepydsm
Re: Oil Pan Leak?

The gaskets on the turbo oil return line always seem to be bad. Instead of buying a new gasket, I would just use RTV like you have on both spots (turbo and oil pan). I'm sure you know this, but make sure all the old gasket material is gone! I personally have never heard/read/seen anything about DSMs having issues with faulty oil pans. Again, I would use RTV on the oil pan and again, make sure you clean off all the old gasket/RTV thats is there. And you should know that if you've been working on cars that long. Good luck!
sleepydsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2005   #3
TGPilot