MitsuStyle MitsuStyle

Go Back   MitsuStyle > Tech > Tuning/Electrical

Old 12-08-2009   #1
turbotalon1g

Drives: '91 Automagic
Send a message via AIM to turbotalon1g
Using a Hobbs switch to control a 3 way switch

I want to use a hobbs switch to control my cutout, is this possible?

Right now for my cutout I have to hold the button for 3 seconds to open, then leave it open, then 3 seconds to close it and its closed.

From what I can find a hobbs switch is either ON or OFF.

Can anyone help me with this? I have never used a hobbs switch before so I do not know much about them.

Thanks
Aaron
Please leave feedback - http://www.dsmtuners.com/forums/itrader.php?u=58309
turbotalon1g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009   #2
FFPerformance

Re: Using a Hobbs switch to control a 3 way switch

you can set up a simple circuit to do that, one that is activated by the hobs switch that essentially puts things in motion, then can do it in reverse when activated again. You would most likely need some EE help though. It should be too tough of a circuit to design but it's beyond me (I just know enough to talk the talk )
FFPerformance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009   #3
scheides
flips McGee

Cutout? Eww. :P

What's the ultimate goal? Go WOT, trip the hobs @ 3psi (or w/e) and then trigger it to open the cutout? When will it close, manually? There's some logic missing here.

I really hate the way those cutouts are wired, makes setting up stuff like this tricky/annoying.
scheides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009   #4
Forced Fed
Banned

Drives: FS-T

Quote:
Originally Posted by scheides View Post
Cutout? Eww. :P

I really hate the way those cutouts are wired, makes setting up stuff like this tricky/annoying.
Only if it was as simple as going open during WOT and shutting after that!
Forced Fed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009   #5
MustGoFaster

Yeti Long Shot: Porpoheus Champion!
Drives: A big dirty V8