MitsuStyle MitsuStyle

Go Back   MitsuStyle > Tech > Tuning/Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2013   #1
mark4g63t
 
mark4g63t's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Twin Cities
Drives: 95 Talon TSI
Posts: 920
Getting bosch 1600's to idle

Been having a little trouble getting my car to move more than a foot before dying. lol. If anyone has any advise for me here's the link to my logs http://www.dsmlink.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77050 This is on 92 pump as still have a little less than a quarter tank before I can switch to e85. I have one question however. Would switching to e85 raise my Injector pulse width? i'm at 1.5-1.6ms and read I should be more around the 2.0ms range with these injectors.
Thanks, Mark
__________________
BW8776, e-85
mark4g63t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013   #2
mark4g63t
 
mark4g63t's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Twin Cities
Drives: 95 Talon TSI
Posts: 920
update

Got her running on corn, posted a log on the link forums as it's an invalid file on this one. let me know what you think. CombFT is high any suggestions?
__________________
BW8776, e-85
mark4g63t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013   #3
Pushit2.0
15min late to the world
Re: Getting bosch 1600's to idle

up the injector dead time to, A LOT, or get a set of 1200cc injectors that are made to work at low injector pulse width....
__________________
Moon taxi: 9.45@156.9 mph 41psi 2011... Letting people down sense 2012.
Pushit2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013   #4
mark4g63t
 
mark4g63t's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Twin Cities
Drives: 95 Talon TSI
Posts: 920
Re: Getting bosch 1600's to idle

Ok and that should bring my CombFT down? Would that also bring my STFT Low down?
__________________
BW8776, e-85
mark4g63t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013   #5
mark4g63t
 
mark4g63t's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Twin Cities
Drives: 95 Talon TSI
Posts: 920
Re: Getting bosch 1600's to idle

Put another log up on link forums. Added some deadtime and played with the MafComp and got my fuel trims down to hover around zero % during idle. I will go for a cruise after work and post that log up. Got some BR7ES's that I was planning on gapping to .028. Was wondering what you guys would recommend for timing and a/f ratio? I just set it quick to 12.0:1 Should I go leaner?

Loving the sweet smell of corn!
Thanks, Mark
__________________
BW8776, e-85
mark4g63t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013   #6
Halon
Pewp Champion
 
Halon's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Blaine
Drives: Teh Bean
Posts: 12,086
Send a message via AIM to Halon
Re: Getting bosch 1600's to idle

1600's are somewhat of a pain on pump gas. E85 helps a little bit for some reason, but still I was always tweaking them to get it to idle decently. Any car that I care about idle quality, I will never put a set of those in ever again. I could get it to idle decent, but 2 weeks later things would change for whatever reason and I'd be in there tweaking, which I'm sure screwed up the rest of the tune. No thanks, but good luck.
__________________
B-Man - FlexFuel Mafia
1991 TSi AWD E85 - BEP S362, DSMLink V2, Built 2.0L Idle Vid 628hp Graph 541hp Vid 10.93@137 Vid
1992 SC300 E85 - BW 84-75, Vlad Infinity, NA-T, 6spd Idle Vid 709hp Graph 709hp Vid 11.1@131 Vid
2006 Bayliner 195 - Carbed 5.0 Top Speed Test
Halon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013   #7
mark4g63t
 
mark4g63t's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Twin Cities
Drives: 95 Talon TSI
Posts: 920
Re: Getting bosch 1600's to idle

Yeah, they're definitely harder to get fuel trims in line than compared to my last injectors (650's). E85 did help a lot as before on 92 octane my car wouldn't move more than a foot before it would die. After I put in the E85 I was able to drive around the block with only global and deadtime adjustments for the fuel change.
I don't have a problem tweaking things every now and then as I always drive with my computer (car has been more than unreliable lol)
What would you suggest I set timing to? I've heard that E85 requires a little more timing advance than pump gas does.
__________________
BW8776, e-85
mark4g63t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013   #8
Halon
Pewp Champion
 
Halon's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Blaine
Drives: Teh Bean
Posts: 12,086
Send a message via AIM to Halon
Re: Getting bosch 1600's to idle

You mean timing at idle, or in general? I'm pretty sure at WOT I was running a max timing advance of around 17* on my 62mm setup. Anything higher than that and the dyno showed no significant gains, so there was no sense in running any more aggressive numbers than that.

And yeah I had my computer in the car all the time as well. After a couple years of constantly having to tweak the tune, I got tired of it. Probably also didn't help that I had all the idle control stuff removed from the TB as well. I eventually put an ISC back on which seemed to help a little.
__________________
B-Man - FlexFuel Mafia
1991 TSi AWD E85 - BEP S362, DSMLink V2, Built 2.0L Idle Vid 628hp Graph 541hp Vid 10.93@137 Vid
1992 SC300 E85 - BW 84-75, Vlad Infinity, NA-T, 6spd Idle Vid 709hp Graph 709hp Vid 11.1@131 Vid
2006 Bayliner 195 - Carbed 5.0 Top Speed Test
Halon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013   #9
turbotalon1g
 
turbotalon1g's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Blaine, MN
Drives: '91 Automagic
Posts: 13,784
Send a message via AIM to turbotalon1g
Re: Getting bosch 1600's to idle

My old 1600s would just have the classic miss/hiccup to them. I hated it and got rid of them, but apart from that slight miss they were perfect.

Back then I wanted my car to be as smooth as a caddy though.
__________________
Aaron/brownman/big brown.
'91 Automagic.
Please leave feedback - http://www.dsmtuners.com/forums/itrader.php?u=58309
turbotalon1g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013   #10
Tachyon
 
Tachyon's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Prior Lake
Drives: Icarus
Posts: 1,370
Re: Getting bosch 1600's to idle

I also hated my old 1600's. They were a CNG injector that Percision had re-branded. Their minimum pulse width was too high for my batch fire setup.

When I switched to 1150's my MPG leaped up because I could hit the low PW's I wanted at cruise/idle.

12:1 AFR is usually fine. I typically go a bit richer as E-fuel is seasonally dependent and it's nice to have a little buffer during the E70 to E85 changeover... (or just be logging all the time, like an OCD motherfucker).

I would also set your timing artificially low until you can get on a dyno. With a 2g head, guessing reasonably normal static compression, somewhere around 10* during peak load. Every setup is different and you really need a dyno here or you're playing with fire.
__________________
"The moment money becomes your motivation, you're immediately not as good as someone who is stimulated by passion and internal will"
-Sebastian Vettel

Last edited by Tachyon; 07-11-2013 at 05:35 PM..
Tachyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013   #11
mark4g63t
 
mark4g63t's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Twin Cities
Drives: 95 Talon TSI
Posts: 920
Re: Getting bosch 1600's to idle

I like the "race car" feel. lol, definitely not a Caddy by ANY means. I want it to remind me that I built it whenever I get in it.
So in general timing isn't anything to be too concerned about? Should I Start with the 2g stock timing table? Right now mine is set to about 13* ramping up to 16*
As you can tell I'm a little paranoid since switching to E85. Give me a week or so for the nerves to go away.


Tachyon: I'll definitely change my timing to a lower value.
__________________
BW8776, e-85

Last edited by mark4g63t; 07-11-2013 at 05:38 PM.. Reason: saw tachyon's post
mark4g63t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013   #12
mark4g63t
 
mark4g63t's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Twin Cities
Drives: 95 Talon TSI
Posts: 920
Re: Getting bosch 1600's to idle

Well I'm currently on the look out for some 1050's or 1150's. Would these still be suitable for e85 on a 20g? Blake has a set of bluemax 1050's I can get if they will work.
__________________
BW8776, e-85

Last edited by mark4g63t; 07-12-2013 at 02:48 PM..
mark4g63t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013   #13
carltalon
 
carltalon's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Big Lake MN
Drives: 98 Eclipse GSX Auto
Posts: 1,514
Send a message via AIM to carltalon Send a message via Yahoo to carltalon
Re: Getting bosch 1600's to idle

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark4g63t View Post
Well I'm currently on the look out for some 1050's or 1150's. Would these still be suitable for e85 on a 20g? Blake has a set of bluemax 1050's I can get if they will work.
They should be fine on a 20g. I am running 1050's with my ef1 on e85 at 75% duty cycle. I used the smallest injectors I thought I could get away with so I could get the best idle and cruise quality.
__________________
Project Black Magic http://mitsustyle.com/forums/showthread.php?t=30786
11.35 @ 120mph
carltalon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013   #14
mark4g63t
 
mark4g63t's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Twin Cities
Drives: 95 Talon TSI
Posts: 920
Re: Getting bosch 1600's to idle

I want to make around 4-450 at DB. Will they be suitable for that? I'd be happy with high 3's low 4's tho.
__________________
BW8776, e-85

Last edited by mark4g63t; 07-12-2013 at 05:25 PM..
mark4g63t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013   #15
turbotalon1g
 
turbotalon1g's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Blaine, MN
Drives: '91 Automagic
Posts: 13,784
Send a message via AIM to turbotalon1g
Re: Getting bosch 1600's to idle

You will need more than a 20g for 400-450whp at DB.
__________________
Aaron/brownman/big brown.
'91 Automagic.
Please leave feedback - http://www.dsmtuners.com/forums/itrader.php?u=58309
turbotalon1g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013   #16
mark4g63t
 
mark4g63t's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Twin Cities
Drives: 95 Talon TSI
Posts: 920
Re: Getting bosch 1600's to idle

Alright so i'm going to try some 1050's after work tonight and hopefully they do the trick. I'll post back once they are in and idling/ cruising.
__________________
BW8776, e-85
mark4g63t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013   #17
Halon
Pewp Champion
 
Halon's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Blaine
Drives: Teh Bean
Posts: 12,086
Send a message via AIM to Halon
Re: Getting bosch 1600's to idle

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbotalon1g View Post
You will need more than a 20g for 400-450whp at DB.
But what if its BILLET!!
__________________
B-Man - FlexFuel Mafia
1991 TSi AWD E85 - BEP S362, DSMLink V2, Built 2.0L Idle Vid 628hp Graph 541hp Vid 10.93@137 Vid
1992 SC300 E85 - BW 84-75, Vlad Infinity, NA-T, 6spd Idle Vid 709hp Graph 709hp Vid 11.1@131 Vid
2006 Bayliner 195 - Carbed 5.0 Top Speed Test
Halon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013   #18
mark4g63t
 
mark4g63t's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Twin Cities
Drives: 95 Talon TSI
Posts: 920
Re: Getting bosch 1600's to idle

I Wish! lol. I'd truly be happy with anything over 350. My goal is 400-450 dd.
__________________
BW8776, e-85
mark4g63t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013   #19
Shane@DBPerformance
formerly ecoli
 
Shane@DBPerformance's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: On the dyno
Posts: 4,892
Send a message via AIM to Shane@DBPerformance
Re: Getting bosch 1600's to idle

Quote:
Originally Posted by Halon View Post
But what if its BILLET!!
Then it will probably fail during or soon after tuning.
__________________
www.dbptuning.com
Shane@DBPerformance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013   #20
mark4g63t
 
mark4g63t's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Twin Cities
Drives: 95 Talon TSI
Posts: 920
Re: Getting bosch 1600's to idle

lol. Good to know. I posted a new log on some 1050's I got. Tremendous difference it made! idle and cruise is like my 650's, maybe even a little better.
__________________
BW8776, e-85
mark4g63t is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.